Shea Organics Colloidal Oatmeal Powder, 32 oz Pack of 1 Review (2026)
Updated September 21, 2026 · Research-based review
Our verdict
This Shea Organics colloidal oatmeal comes in a 32 ounce bag, a better per-ounce value than smaller pouches for a soap maker who reorders often. It is marketed for cold process, melt and pour, liquid soap, and body wash, but does not state an organic certification for this size, and needs airtight storage to stay dry.

Shea Organics colloidal oatmeal powder, 32 oz Pack of 1, a larger bag for frequent oatmeal soap makers.
Price range: See on Amazon
What we liked
- + 32 oz bag gives better value than smaller oatmeal pouches
- + Colloidal grind blends smoothly into cold process soap
- + Brand also sells soap ingredients, so it fits soapers well
Trade-offs
- - Check the organic certification listed if that matters for your recipe
- - Large bag needs airtight storage to stay fresh and dry
What is in the bag
This is a 32 ounce, single pack bag of colloidal oatmeal powder from Shea Organics, marketed on Amazon as a soothing bath treatment for sensitive skin that is also suited to DIY skincare and soap making. Colloidal oatmeal is oat that has been ground down to a very fine, smooth powder, unlike coarser rolled or steel-cut oats, which lets it blend into soap batter and bath water without leaving gritty texture behind. The listing frames it as appropriate for both babies and adults, a common claim for colloidal oatmeal given its long history in gentle, sensitive-skin bath products, and the brand positions the ingredient as a bulk-friendly option for makers who use it often.
Where it fits in a soap recipe
The brand's own marketing lists cold process soap, melt and pour bases, liquid soap, and body wash as suitable uses for this oatmeal, giving a soap maker flexibility across several product formats rather than just one. Oatmeal is a long-standing natural additive in soap making, valued for the mild, soothing texture it lends to a bar, and a finely milled colloidal grind, as opposed to coarser oatmeal, mixes into batter more evenly and is less likely to leave rough, scratchy specs in the finished bar. Many makers also sprinkle a little on top of a bar as a rustic, textured finish.
A gap in the organic claim
Shea Organics also sells a separate product explicitly labeled as organic colloidal oatmeal in a smaller 16 ounce size, but the Amazon listing for this particular 32 ounce, Pack of 1 bag does not state an organic certification, only describing it generally as a soothing, natural oat powder. A soap maker who specifically wants to market a bar as containing certified organic oatmeal should confirm this distinction before buying, since the two products from the same brand are not identical on that point even though both are marketed for soap making and skincare use more broadly.
Storage for a large bag
A 32 ounce bag is a meaningfully larger quantity than the smaller pouches many crafters start with, which brings better value per ounce for someone making oatmeal soap regularly, but it also means more product exposed to air each time the bag is opened. Colloidal oatmeal can absorb ambient moisture over time if left in a loosely sealed bag, which can affect how easily it blends into a batch later, so transferring the contents to an airtight container after opening is a reasonable step for anyone planning to use the bag gradually over several separate soap-making sessions spread across a number of different weeks or months of regular use.
Bottom line
This bag suits a soap maker who uses oatmeal regularly across cold process, melt and pour, or liquid soap recipes and wants a larger supply than a small trial pouch. The finely milled colloidal grind blends smoothly, and the brand's own soap-ingredient background lines up well with soap-making use. Buyers specifically seeking a certified organic oatmeal should note that this listing does not make that claim for the 32 ounce size, unlike a separate smaller product from the same brand, and should plan on airtight storage once the bag is opened to keep the remaining supply usable and dry for future batches.
Frequently asked questions
How much oatmeal is in this bag
It is a 32 ounce bag, sold as a single pack, according to the Amazon listing.
Is this oatmeal certified organic
The listing for this 32 ounce size does not state an organic certification, though the brand sells a separate 16 ounce product labeled organic.
What kinds of soap can this oatmeal be used in
The brand markets it for cold process soap, melt and pour bases, liquid soap, and body wash.
How should a large bag like this be stored
Transferring it to an airtight container after opening helps prevent the fine powder from absorbing moisture over time.
Prices change often, so check the current price and availability on Amazon.
Check price on AmazonSoap Making Nest may earn a commission from the link above.